The Repsol Honda Trial Team rider wins the first round of the X-Trial Championship season. Teammate Marcelli completes the rostrum.

The Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona hosted the inaugural 2024 X-Trial World Championship round, where the Repsol Honda Trial Team riders provided a great performance in front of the home fans. Toni Bou earned his seventeenth victory at the venue, whilst teammate Marcelli rounded off the podium.

The reigning World Champion thrilled the fans at the Palau Sant Jordi. From the first lap, Bou took the lead after collecting a single penalty point at Zone 3, a position he would maintain on the second lap. In the final, the Repsol Honda Trial Team rider faced Jaime Busto and Gabriel Marcelli, and emerged victorious over the six zones.

Marcelli continued at the same level with which he ended 2023. After accruing four penalty points on the first lap, the Repsol Honda rider was third. On the second lap, the young Spaniard made some mistakes that caused him to pick up seven penalty points, but this did not prevent him from reaching the final together with Bou and Busto. After overcoming the last six zones, Marcelli took third place.

Bou leads the standings with 22 points and Marcelli is third with 12. The next event of the X-Trial World Championship will be on March 15th in Chalon- Sur-Saone (France).

Toni Bou


“Without a doubt, starting the season here is special because it is our home race. I don't know if it was the best edition of the Barcelona round, but it was very close. The level was rising as the laps progressed, but we managed to handle it well, especially in the final. We are still living a dream, so it's time to enjoy it. Thank you to the team for the support and for all the work they have done during preseason.”

Gabriel Marcelli

Championship: 3RD

“I'm happy, but not completely satisfied. I wanted to win, but I didn't have a good enough feeling to do it... Maybe I carried some extra pressure and I wasn't able to perform as well as I wanted. Being on the podium to start the season is a good result and, in addition, we are free of discomfort and injuries, so I will take away the positives. For the next round we will seek to improve on the mistakes we made and fight to be at the top again.”

Takahisa Fujinami

Team Manager

“Finishing the first race in first and third position is very good. We have trained a lot in the winter and that was shown. The setup of the bike is good, so now we will prepare for the next round in France. Toni was great and I know Gabri can be up there too if he handles the pressure better, so we remain focused on getting a one-two. The whole team have worked very hard and I am very happy.”

X-Trial 2024
Trial Round X-TR1   Barcelona

Results X-Trial Barcelona

Pos. Rider Num Nation L1 L2 L3 T3 Team Constructor Points
1 Bou Toni 1 SPA 1 1 11 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
2 Busto Jaime 69 SPA 3 2 21 Gas Gas Factory Racing Gas Gas
3 Marcelli Gabriel 38 SPA 4 7 22 Repsol Honda Team Montesa
4 Grattarola Matteo 88 ITA 6 5 Beta Factory Racing Beta
5 Raga Adam 68 SPA 7 10 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
6 Martyn Toby 21 GBR 9 6 Montesa Montesa
7 Bincaz Benoit 73 FRA 10 9 Sherco Factory Team Sherco
8 Gelabert Aniol 28 SPA 12 17 TRRS Factory Team TRRS
X-Trial 2024
Trial Round X-TR1   Barcelona

Provisional Standings after race 1

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Constructor Points
1 Bou Toni 1 SPA Repsol Honda Team Montesa 22
2 Busto Jaime 69 SPA Gas Gas Factory Racing Gas Gas 15
3 Marcelli Gabriel 38 SPA Repsol Honda Team Montesa 12
4 Grattarola Matteo 88 ITA Beta Factory Racing Beta 9
5 Raga Adam 68 SPA Sherco Factory Team Sherco 6
6 Martyn Toby 21 GBR Montesa Montesa 4
7 Bincaz Benoit 73 FRA Sherco Factory Team Sherco 2
8 Gelabert Aniol 28 SPA TRRS Factory Team TRRS 1

Highlights X-Trial Barcelona

Location Information

First edition 1978
Location Palau Sant Jordi (from 1991)
Seats 15.000 (all seats full)
Organization RPM-MKTG

Palau Sant Jordi, Passeig Olímpic, Barcelona, España - View in Google Maps


Podium 2024 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Jaime Busto (GasGas) - Gabriel Marcelli (Montesa)
Podium 2023 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Gabriel Marcelli (Montesa) - Jaime Busto (GasGas)
Podium 2022 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS) - Matteo Grattarola (Beta)
Podium 2021 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Gabriel Marcelli (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS)
Podium 2020 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS) - Jorge Casales (Gas Gas)
Podium 2019 Adam Raga (TRRS) - Toni Bou (Montesa) - Jaime Busto (Gas Gas)
Podium 2018 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS) - Jeroni Fajardo (Gas Gas)
Podium 2017 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS) - Jeroni Fajardo (Vertigo)
Podium 2016 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (TRRS) - Albert Cabestany (Sherco)
Podium 2015 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (Gas Gas) - Albert Cabestany (Sherco)
Podium 2014 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (Gas Gas) - Albert Cabestany (Sherco)
Podium 2013 Toni Bou (Montesa) - Adam Raga (Gas Gas) - Takahisa Fujinami (Montesa)